When you think of tennis, which questions come to your mind?

Why, how and where was tennis invented? When was tennis created and who invented tennis? What was the original shape of a tennis court? When and where was tennis first played? When did tennis start? Where did tennis originate? Who is the best tennis player in history and what is the history of tennis scoring origin? Who had the fastest serve? What was the shortest or fastest tennis match in history?All answers on these and many more others amusing questions you will find here!Learn fascinating history of tennis from the royal courts of England and France to centre court at Wimbledon, follow the whole history from Henry VIII to Federer the great with TENNISMOOD.COM!

History of Tennis

Tennis has its origins in 12th century France when people played by striking a ball with the palm of their hands. The game evolved with time and racquets came into use by the16th century, and modern tennis as we known the game today developed in the mid-19th century.Throughout the history of tennis , there have been champs who have captivated fans with their attainments. From the history-making record of Arthur Ashe, the first African-American winning at Wimbledon, to the Olympic medal-winning athleticism of players like Serena Williams and Rafael Nadal to the colorful on-and-off-court personalities of players like Jimmy Connors and John McEnroe with their nail-biting performance on court . These tennis players have created history acing their sport with the most momentous matches in tennis history.

Grand Slam Tournaments History

There are four tournaments included in the category of Grand Slams and are considered to be the most prestigious tournaments. They are : Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open.Wimbledon was played for the first time in 1877. This tournament is considered to be the oldest tennis tournament. It was followed by the US in 1881, the French in 1891, and the Australian in 1905. However, of these four, only Wimbledon was a major before 1924/25, the time when all four became designated Grand Slam tournaments. US Open is the second tournament in the schedule of Grand Slam, which started in 1881. The year 1891 saw the emergence of the French Open ( then known as Roland Garros ) and the Australian Open made its appearance in the international domain of tennis in 1905.All the four tournaments are held every year at present.The Australian Open takes place at Melbourne Park during the Australian summer in January, making it the first of the Grand Slam tournaments to be held each year. The Australian Open was first held in 1905, and it was held on grass courts until 1987. Beginning in 1988, the tournament has been contested on hard courts. Its current champions are Roger Federer (men's singles), Serena Williams (women's singles), Bob and Mike Bryan (men's doubles), Serena and Venus Williams (women's doubles), and Cara Black and Leander Paes (mixed doubles).The next Grand Slam tournament to be held on the annual tennis calendar is the French Open. The tournament, takes place over the course of two weeks in the spring, from late May to early June. The French Open, held in Paris, is the only tournament of the Majors that is held on a clay court, as it has been since it began in 1891. Because clay is a slow-moving surface, the French Open is often regarded as the most physically difficult of the Grand Slam tournaments. Its current champions are Rafael Nadal (men's singles), Francesca Schiavone (women's singles), Daniel Nestor and Nenad Zimonjic (men's doubles), Serena and Venus Williams (women's doubles), and Katarina Srebotnik and Nenad Zimonjic (mixed doubles).The third Grand Slam tournament is perhaps the most well-known tennis tournament in the world, and it also has the distinction of being the oldest. The Wimbledon Championships has been held since 1877 in the London suburb of Wimbledon, from late June to early July. Wimbledon places a strong emphasis on tradition: it is the only one of the Majors still held on grass, and spectators eat strawberries and cream, a traditional English dessert, while watching the games. Wimbledon's current champions are Rafael Nadal (men's singles), Serena Williams (women's singles), Jürgen Melzer and Philipp Petzschner (men's doubles), Vania King and Yaroslava Shvedova (women's doubles), and Leander Paes and Cara Black (mixed doubles).The final Grand Slam tournament of the annual tennis calendar is the most recent addition to the Majors. The US Open began as the U.S. National Championship in 1881, but it did not join the Grand Slam tournaments until 1987. The US Open is held during the weeks before and after Labor Day weekend, from late August to early September. The tournament has changed its courts several times over the years, beginning with grass, then moving to clay in 1975, and finally to hard courts in 1978. The current champions are Juan Martin del Potro (men's singles), Kim Clijsters (women's singles), Lukáš Dlouhý and Leander Paes (men's doubles), Serena and Venus Williams (women's doubles), and Carly Gullickson and Travis Parrott (mixed doubles).

Back To Top